creamy ricotta, tangy chewy tomatoes, sweet

Honey Roasted Tomato Bruschetta: Hello delicious!  This might be a little intensive for an afternoon snack, but on a lazy Saturday with sunlight streaming through the kitchen window… the wafting aroma of tomatoes roasting in the oven tossed in honey and thyme is completely divine.

I found the recipe for this lovely appetizer in an old Food and Wine magazine.  You can check out the real recipe here.  It requires two different kinds of honey.  I love honey, but I’m not picky… which is convenient because I am also poor!  However, I can attest to the deliciousness of the single-honey version.

Here we go!

nothing like an extra drizzle of honey!

1.) Halve a bunch of cherry or grape tomatoes.  I think the recipe calls for 2 pints.

2.) Mix a couple tablespoons olive oil with a few tablespoons of the honey of your choice.  I used sourwood because we had it on hand, but my heart lies with clover.  Add some kosher salt and ground pepper along with a generous sprinkling of thyme.  Dried is fine… probably better for this recipe.

3.) Toss the tomatoes in the mixture to coat and place on a greased cookie sheet.  You could also use foil, parchment paper, or my boyfriend, the Silpat. (teehee) Try to make sure all of the tomatoes are cut side up.

4.) Place in a 300° oven for an hour and a half.  It’s not a quick snack, but you’ll develop quite an appetite after smelling them roasting for that long!

5.) You can toast slices of french bread in the broiler or toaster oven, but to be honest, as long as the outside of the bread is crusty… its fine untoasted.  In fact, I’d eat this on just about anything.

6.) Place dollops of ricotta cheese on each slice, then arrange the tomatoes on top.  Sprinkle with fresh basil, salt and pepper, and drizzle with extra honey.  Also, I highly recommend a splash of balsamic vinegar.

7.) ENJOY!

this is a closeup of the yumminess

